Two-stage ASEAN economic integration mooted

ASEAN countries which are ready for the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) integration in 2015 may proceed with the plan ahead of slower members, the Bangkok Post reported.

Last year, the six more developed members - Brunei, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand - eliminated tariffs on 99.11% of all goods. Howewver, the four less developed countries - Cambodia, Laos, Burma and Vietnam - still levy tariffs of between zero and 5% on 98.86% of goods.