The ASEAN-led Regional Comprenesive Economic Parnership (RCEP) comes into force on 1 January 2022

As of 2 November 2021, the ASEAN Secretariat in Jakarta had received Instruments of Ratification/Acceptance from six members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations – Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam – as well as from four non-ASEAN signatory States – Australia, China, Japan and New Zealand, for the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) agreement.

As provided by the Agreement, RCEP will enter into force 60 days after the date at which the minimum number of IOR/A is achieved. This means that the RCEP Agreement shall enter into force on 1 January 2022.

“The expeditious ratification process by signatory States is a true reflection of our strong commitment to a fair and open multilateral trading system for the benefit of the people in the region and the world.

The implementation of the RCEP Agreement starting 1 January next year will give tremendous boost to the post COVID-19 economic recovery efforts,” the Secretary-General of ASEAN, Dato Lim Jock Hoi said.

According to the ASEAN Secretariat, preparatory work for the entry into force of RCEP will continue by signatory States "to lay a solid ground for the full and effective implementation of the Agreement through finalisation of the technical and institutional aspects of the Agreement".