Four ASEAN bourses to cross-trade by first quarter 2012

Cross-trading between four ASEAN stock exchanges - the Stock Exchange of Thailand, Bursa Malaysia, the Philippines Stock Exchange and the Singapore Stock Exchange - will be effective by the first quarter of 2012. The interconnectivity trading program will reportedly allow investors and brokers to access multiple markets via a single connection. About 3,000 companies are trading on the four exchanges. A further 200 stocks will be added when the Indonesian Stock Exchange and two stock markets in Vietnam join the program.